School Governance Council

SCHOOL GOVERNANCE COUNCIL

The Council will work together to improve student achievement. Research has shown that partnerships among families, school and community members can make a powerful contribution to greater student success.

What does the School Governance Council Do?

The School Governance Council serves as an important role to the school administrator by:

  • Analyzing school achievement data and school needs,
  • Review the fiscal objectives of a school's draft budget,
  • Participate in the hiring process of the school principal,
  • Advise the principal in making programmatic and operational changes.

The Council consists of 7 parents and/or guardians, 5 teachers, and 2 community members. All members must be elected to the council.

To learn more about School Governance Councils please visit www.ct.gov/sde/SGC or contact Jennifer Calabrese, Farm Hill Principal, at 860-346-1225.

Click the Links below to get started!

Information for Parents for 2017

Member Recruitment Brochure

Nomination Form for 2017

Candidate Information 2017

School Governance Council Video

2018 - 2019 School Governance Council Members

Teachers (5)

Kim Davis (Year 2+)        

daviskim@mpsct.org

Colleen Twomey (Year 1)

twomeyc@mpsct.org

Lenore Williams  (Year 2+)

williamsl@mpsct.org

Elizabeth Bredefeld (Year 1)

bredefelde@mpsct.org

Elizabeth Read (Year 1)

reade@mpsct.org


Parents (7)

Rochelle Purcell  (Year 2+)

roch0125@aol.com

Sandra Parker  (Year 2+)

Sandra.parker@pw.utc.com

Monica Belyea (Year 2)

Monica.belyea@gmail.com

James Sylvestre (Year 2)

jamessylvestre@yahoo.com

Shanay Fulton (Year 1)

shfulton@gmail.com

Sarah Shapiro (Year 1)

sshapiro@shapirolawofficesct.com

Ivana Vior (Year 1)

ivior@hotmail.com

Joshua Yahwak (Year 1)

joshuayahwak@hotmail.com


Community Leaders (2)

Officer Anthony Knapp (Year 2+)

aknapp@middletownctpolice.com

Dora Hest dorahest@gmail.com 

Principal (1)

Jennifer Calabrese

calabresej@mpsct.org